Share the details
Business plansBanking line

Credit guarantee scheme Tanzania: what it adds to the SME loan file

The Bank of Tanzania SME scheme covers up to 50 percent of a TZS 50 million to 1 billion loan, but the lender applies and the rest of the loan file still has to stand.

NEMBO Insights deskContent checked by Zatra Consultants Limited
6 November 2026Published
6 November 2026Updated
15 min3,214 words
On this page
  1. What changed on 5 November 2026
  2. Who should read this
  3. What do the two Bank of Tanzania schemes cover?
  4. Which press figures could be confirmed at the primary source?
  5. How does a guarantee application reach the Bank of Tanzania?
  6. What does a guarantee add to the SME loan file?
  7. What does a guarantee not change?
  8. Worked example: a TZS 300,000,000 loan with a security gap
  9. What is the proposed Credit Guarantee Corporation, and does it change the file yet?
  10. Does the Bank of Tanzania guarantee apply in Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar?
  11. What to do now
  12. Key dates
  13. What the NEMBO desk prepares
  14. How Zatra helps
  15. Sources and status
  16. Frequently asked questions
Quick answer

What does a credit guarantee scheme in Tanzania change for an SME loan file?

It narrows one gap only: the collateral shortfall. The lender, not the borrower, applies to the Bank of Tanzania, and the SME scheme covers up to 50 percent of a TZS 50 million to 1 billion loan, principal only. Cash flow, viability, registration and the bank's own credit assessment must still be proved.

Cover: Bank of Tanzania credit guarantee scheme and the SME loan file

On 5 November 2026 a Bank of Tanzania analyst told a seminar for journalists in Dar es Salaam that the Bank has backed business loans through two government schemes, according to The Respondent. The report gave headline figures and cited no Bank document. This note reads the Bank's own pages against the report and says what it means for an SME's loan file. A guarantee is a tool the lender uses, not a benefit the borrower claims.

What changed on 5 November 2026

No law or scheme changed on that day. What changed is public detail, and each point below is press-reported unless a later section confirms it at the Bank.

It said loans of TZS 2.1 trillion were backed by guarantees of TZS 1.6 trillion, through the Export Credit Guarantee Scheme (ECGS, July 2002) and the SME Credit Guarantee Scheme (SME-CGS, September 2005). The lending bank applies to the Bank of Tanzania and pays a fee of 1 percent of the amount covered. A 50 percent cover still left some borrowers short of collateral. A guarantee gives no exemption from normal credit assessment or repayment.

Two other items are easy to confuse with this. Daily News reported on 5 November 2026 that NMB signed a US$30 million loan from China Development Bank for SME lending. The report gives no guarantee, rate or tenor. In April 2026 Business Insider Tanzania reported a Deputy Minister's statement in Parliament about 7 percent SME loans through NMB. Neither item is a Bank of Tanzania guarantee.

Who should read this

This note is for SME owners planning a loan of TZS 50 million to TZS 1 billion with thin security. It is also for accountants, consultants and cooperatives that assemble loan files. The Bank's own report names agricultural marketing cooperatives as the main users of its scheme. Readers in Zanzibar should read the Mainland and Zanzibar section first.

What do the two Bank of Tanzania schemes cover?

The Bank's credit guarantee page says it manages two loan guarantee funds for the Government. The page carries no date and was read on 6 November 2026.

What do the two Bank of Tanzania schemes cover?
ItemECGSSME-CGS
StartedJuly 2002September 2005
Aimed atExport-oriented producers with sound projects and thin collateralSmall and medium entrepreneurs in the same position
CoverUp to 75 percent of loans due within a year; up to 50 percent beyondUp to 50 percent of the loan
Loan size and termNot stated on the pageTZS 50 million to 1 billion; 1 to 5 years
What is coveredPrincipal onlyPrincipal only
Eligible lendersBanks and financial institutions registered with the BankSame

Crop loans with a 12 to 15 month cycle can reach 75 percent. Its borrower criteria are written around export production: a registered business operating in Tanzania, mostly Tanzanian-owned, with credible management and enforceable collateral. The page does not say whether the SME scheme applies the same export test. Ask the lender, and the Bank in writing if it matters.

Which press figures could be confirmed at the primary source?

Which press figures could be confirmed at the primary source?
PointPress saysBank page showsStatus
Start datesJuly 2002; September 2005Same datesConfirmed
50 percent coverGiven as the exampleSME-CGS up to 50 percentConfirmed
Who appliesThe lending bankLender submits the formConfirmed
Fee of 1 percentPaid by banksNo fee on the pageNot confirmed
TZS 2.1 trillion and 1.6 trillionLoans and guaranteesNo Bank document read states themNot confirmed
Application contentsBorrower data, amount, shortfall, portionNames a form, lists no contentsNot confirmed
Lender agreement with the BankSigned after approvalNot on the pageNot confirmed

The Bank's mid-term evaluation of the financial inclusion framework, dated June 2026, gives different totals. It says the Bank's guarantee scheme resumed in September 2023. By December 2025 loans issued stood at TZS 185.72 billion and guarantees at TZS 116.68 billion. The report does not say whether its period or scope differs from the press totals, and the desk has not tried to reconcile them. Treat the TZS 2.1 trillion figure as press-reported.

An older independent review for the Financial Sector Deepening Trust, Review of Guarantee Schemes in Tanzania, reports a 1 percent annual risk-sharing fee for ECGS. It is undated, uses data from about 2012 and 2013, and also says the SME scheme was suspended in 2008. Treat it as a hint only.

How does a guarantee application reach the Bank of Tanzania?

The borrower never applies to the Bank. The Bank's page sets out this route.

  1. The business applies to a registered bank with a feasibility study and the lender's other documents.
  2. The lender appraises the project and checks credit history with a Credit Reference Bureau. See the Zatra note on the bureau regime.
  3. If satisfied, the lender submits the guarantee form for the SME-CGS or the ECGS to the Bank.
  4. The Bank assesses the application against the fund guidelines and, if the conditions are met, issues the guarantee to the lender for the Government.
  5. The lender monitors the project and repayments and reports to the Bank.

The page does not publish the form or its attachments. The press report says the lender states the borrower's details, the amount sought, the collateral shortfall and the portion to be guaranteed, and that the Bank then tests financial viability. It adds that a lender agreement follows approval. These points are press-reported. Ask the lender what it sends.

What does a guarantee add to the SME loan file?

What does a guarantee add to the SME loan file?
File elementWhat the guarantee addsEvidence to hold
Collateral shortfallThe gap must be stated in shillingsValuation, lender's security rule, gap
Project viabilityThe Bank tests it separatelyFeasibility study, plan, assumptions
Cash flowNothing; repayment duty is unchangedBank statements, forecast, cover ratio
Registration statusThe page requires a registered businessCertificate, licence, tax number
OwnershipThe page says mostly Tanzanian-ownedShareholder register
Bank's credit assessmentIt must be passed firstCredit report, account history
Personal or third-party guaranteesThe page expects enforceable collateral at the lender's levelSigned deeds checked by an advocate

Bank terms such as loan bands and eligibility lists are in the NMB, CRDB and NBC comparison and the CRDB SME Bidii note, so this note does not repeat them. The cash side is in the 13-week cash forecast note. The one-page SME loan file checklist lists the base documents.

The desk read the NBC Business Finance page on 6 November 2026. It mentions neither collateral nor any Bank of Tanzania guarantee. NMB and CRDB pages could not be read again on that day. The October NEMBO comparison records no Bank of Tanzania scheme among their terms. No bank page the desk has seen publishes a guarantee-specific requirement, so the lender's branch list governs.

Registration fees at 26 September 2026, Mainland, paid to BRELA: business name application TZS 15,000 (register ID F0022), annual maintenance TZS 5,000 (F0023), and company annual return TZS 22,000 (F0007). The Zatra note on TIN and VAT and the business name service page cover the steps. The Bank lists no fee for a guarantee application.

What does a guarantee not change?

  • The lender still decides whether to lend, and on what price and security.
  • The borrower still owes the debt. The press report says a guarantee gives no exemption from repayment.
  • Interest is outside the cover, because the page says principal only.
  • Cover is partial. The Bank's report lists credit and guarantee pairs for 2024/25 and 2025/26. Dividing them gives ratios from 25 to 75 percent. This is the desk's arithmetic, and the report states no rate.
  • Unregistered businesses face a barrier. The press report names it, and the Bank page speaks of a registered business.

Worked example: a TZS 300,000,000 loan with a security gap

This example is illustrative. Kilimo Pack Limited is a fictional packaging maker in Dar es Salaam. The 16 percent rate and the lender's security rule are assumptions, not quotes. The same 16 percent is used in the NMB, CRDB and NBC comparison, and lenders test such model assumptions hard.

Worked example: a TZS 300,000,000 loan with a security gap
ItemFigureNote
Loan requestedTZS 300,000,00036 months, inside the 1 to 5 year band
Lender's security ruleTZS 300,000,000Assumed policy
Security offeredTZS 180,000,000Forced-sale value of premises
ShortfallTZS 120,000,000300,000,000 less 180,000,000
Shortfall share of loan40 percent120,000,000 over 300,000,000
Scheme cap at 50 percentTZS 150,000,000The shortfall fits under it
Fee at 1 percentTZS 1,200,000Press figure; bank pays; pass-on unknown
Monthly instalmentTZS 10,547,11016 percent, reducing balance
Annual debt serviceTZS 126,565,32012 instalments
Forecast operating cash flowTZS 170,000,000Cover of 1.34
Downside, 20 percent lowerTZS 136,000,000Cover of 1.07

The guarantee closes the security gap of TZS 120,000,000. It does nothing for the 1.07 cover in the downside, and that is the line a credit committee reads. If the fee were charged each year, as the older review reports for ECGS, three years would cost TZS 3,600,000. Ask the lender how the fee is treated before the offer letter.

What is the proposed Credit Guarantee Corporation, and does it change the file yet?

Not yet. The Governor announced on 8 December 2025 that the Bank is preparing a Credit Guarantee Public Limited Company, according to Daily News of 9 December 2025. Daily News of 13 March 2026 reported stakeholder consultations. That report does not say whether ECGS and SME-CGS would move to the new company.

The Bank's public notice invites comments on draft Credit Guarantee Corporation Regulations, 2026, by 2 June 2026. It says the existing schemes are being turned into an independent corporation owned by the Government and the private sector. The draft text has a blank notice number. It proposes a cap of 80 percent of the facility unless the Bank allows otherwise. A draft is not law.

The Bank's World Bank project papers, such as the environmental and social management system and the draft stakeholder engagement plan, both dated November 2025, describe partial guarantees through a new corporation. They set no start date. The draft plan also describes a planned collateral registry for movable assets at the Bank. Until the Corporation exists, the file goes through the current schemes.

Does the Bank of Tanzania guarantee apply in Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar?

Does the Bank of Tanzania guarantee apply in Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar?
PointMainlandZanzibar
Bank of Tanzania Act 2006Extends here (s.2)Extends here (s.2)
Scheme page wordingRegistered business operating in TanzaniaSame words; Zanzibar not discussed
AdministrationBank, under a Ministry of Finance agency agreementNot stated; confirm with the Bank
Business registrationBRELAZanzibar has its own authorities; confirm there
World Bank project papersMainland project unit namedZanzibar unit and bodies named

The Bank of Tanzania Act, 2006 extends to Mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar. The Bank's Annual Financial Inclusion Report 2023 says the Ministry of Finance signed an agency agreement for the SME scheme. Neither document says whether a Zanzibar-registered business gets the SME scheme on the same terms. That point is unverified. Ask the lender and the Bank in writing. The CRDB note covers Zanzibar registration for a loan file.

What to do now

  1. Ask the lender first. Ask whether it uses the SME-CGS or the ECGS, what it sends to the Bank, and whether any fee reaches you.
  2. Quantify the shortfall. Set the lender's security rule against a valuation and state the gap in shillings.
  3. Build the viability evidence. A feasibility study and plan with stated assumptions. See the business plan and feasibility desk.
  4. Test the cash flow. Show debt service cover in the base and downside cases. See the financial reports and CFO packs.
  5. Fix registration. Put the certificate, licence and tax number in one folder before the meeting.
  6. Pull your credit report. The lender will check the bureau, so read it first.
  7. Send security papers to an advocate. Charges, third-party guarantees and any dispute with a lender belong with an advocate.
  8. Send tax and reporting questions to an accountant. Statements should follow the framework that applies to the entity.
  9. Confirm Zanzibar in writing. If the business or the branch is in Zanzibar, ask both the lender and the Bank.

Key dates

No statutory deadline applies to a borrower. The dates below are the source dates.

Key dates
DateEventSource
July 2002ECGS startedBank page
September 2005SME-CGS startedBank page
September 2023Bank's guarantee scheme resumedBank evaluation, June 2026
8 December 2025Credit Guarantee PLC plan announcedDaily News, 9 December 2025
13 March 2026Consultations reportedDaily News
2 June 2026Comments on draft Regulations closedBank notice
5 November 2026Seminar and press reportThe Respondent

What the NEMBO desk prepares

The client shares the facts: the loan request, the security list, registration papers and bank statements. Zatra Consultants prepares and checks the content. NEMBO designs and delivers it. For a guarantee-backed request the desk prepares a business plan or feasibility study, a cash flow and debt service pack, and a seven-folder data room. The free checklist is a place to start.

Two cost buckets apply. Government fees at the official rate are paid to the authority and are separate from NEMBO's and Zatra's fees. NEMBO and Zatra fees are published on /packages/ and /pricing/ and quoted in writing. See how a job runs, or share the details.

How Zatra helps

Zatra checks the facts, filings and figures in the file: the registration status, the shortfall arithmetic, the cover ratios and the source for every scheme term. The business plans and feasibility studies service covers the plan side. The desk does not decide or guarantee any authority's outcome, whether that authority is a bank, a tender panel or a regulator. Security documents and disputes go to an advocate. Tax and reporting go to an accountant.

Next step

Business plan and feasibility study

Zatra Consultants prepares and checks the content on the details the Client shares. NEMBO designs and delivers it. Fees are published on the packages page and quoted in writing.

Open the desk page

Sources and status

Accurate as at 6 November 2026. Bank of Tanzania pages and documents were read in full or in part on that date, and press items were read once. Scheme terms come from the Bank of Tanzania's own pages, and press items are labelled as press.

Figures to confirm before you act

  • The 1 percent guarantee fee, who pays it and whether it recurs: press-reported only.
  • TZS 2.1 trillion in loans and TZS 1.6 trillion in guarantees: press-reported, and unreconciled with the Bank's TZS 185.72 billion and TZS 116.68 billion.
  • Whether the SME scheme applies the export test written on the Bank's page.
  • The contents of the Bank's guarantee form, which the desk has not seen.
  • Use of the schemes by Zanzibar-registered businesses.
  • The status, capital and start date of the proposed Corporation. The 80 percent cap is draft only.
  • Current NMB, CRDB and NBC terms, which each bank's branch confirms.

This article is general information based on official sources available at the date of publication. It is not legal, tax or financial advice. Laws and notices change. Verify with the issuing authority or consult Zatra before acting.

Frequently asked questions

Who holds the guarantee, the borrower or the bank?

The Bank's page says the guarantee is issued to the lender on the Government's behalf. The loan remains the borrower's debt, and the lender keeps monitoring the project.

Can an unregistered business use a Bank of Tanzania guarantee?

The Bank's page describes a registered business operating in Tanzania, and the press report names lack of registration as a barrier. Register first, then ask the lender about the scheme.

Who pays the 1 percent guarantee fee?

The press report says banks pay it on the amount covered. The Bank's page lists no fee, so the desk could not confirm it. Ask whether the lender passes the cost on before signing.

How large can a guaranteed SME loan be?

For the SME scheme the Bank's page gives loans from TZS 50 million to TZS 1 billion, over 1 to 5 years, with cover up to 50 percent. It states no band for the export scheme.

Does the guarantee cover interest as well as principal?

No. The Bank's page says the guarantee covers principal only, for the whole loan period. Interest sits outside the cover, so a lender still wants cash flow evidence.

Is the new Credit Guarantee Corporation taking applications?

No source the desk read says so. The Bank has published draft regulations and held consultations, and the draft is not law. Until the Corporation is established and any transfer is announced, applications run through the existing schemes via a lender.

Can a business apply to the Bank of Tanzania directly?

No. The Bank's page says the business applies to a registered bank or financial institution, and the lender submits the guarantee form. The press report agrees.

Does the NMB loan from China Development Bank include a guarantee?

The Daily News report of 5 November 2026 does not mention a guarantee, a rate or a tenor. Treat it as a separate funding line, and ask NMB for the terms that apply to you.

NEMBO Insights desk

Notes are written by NEMBO. Zatra Consultants Limited, the consultancy behind the research and compliance content, checks the sources, the figures and the legal positions before a note is published.